HealthcareDiscovery.AI / Doctors / Specialties / Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine)

Critical Care Doctors (Internal Medicine) in the United States

Data updated monthly · Last refresh October 2026

6,427 Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) providers practice across all 50 states and Washington DC, and 43% received drug or device company payments in 2025. California has the most at 731. Listings are drawn from federal public records and are not endorsements.

6,427providers
51states
43%with industry payments

Industry payment share ranges from 70% in Louisiana to 21% in Washington, among states with 25 or more providers.

Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) providers by state

StateProvidersReceived payments
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in California73141%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Florida58145%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in New York47631%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Texas41453%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Pennsylvania33335%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Illinois28145%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in New Jersey22563%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Georgia21252%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Maryland20937%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Ohio20245%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Arizona18249%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Missouri18036%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Michigan17950%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Virginia17345%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in North Carolina17353%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Indiana16750%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Massachusetts15731%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Colorado14944%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Wisconsin13628%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Washington13521%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Minnesota11323%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Tennessee8949%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in South Carolina7865%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Oregon7529%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Nevada6946%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Louisiana6370%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Utah5735%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Washington DC5036%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Alabama4947%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Kentucky4439%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Connecticut4335%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Oklahoma3847%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Hawaii3751%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in West Virginia3551%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in New Mexico3043%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Arkansas2948%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Iowa2741%
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in North Dakota24not reported
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Maine23not reported
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Alaska21not reported
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in New Hampshire21not reported
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Rhode Island20not reported
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Kansas18not reported
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Mississippi13not reported
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Idaho13not reported
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Nebraska12not reported
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in South Dakota9not reported
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Montana9not reported
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Vermont9not reported
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Delaware8not reported
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) in Wyoming6not reported

Common questions

How many Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) providers are there in the United States?

There are 6,427 Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) providers with active NPI records across all 50 states and Washington DC, according to federal NPPES data refreshed monthly. California has the most at 731.

What share of Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) providers received drug or device company payments?

2,747 of 6,427 Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine) providers nationally (43%) received at least one payment from a drug or device company in 2025, according to the federal Open Payments program. The share is highest in Louisiana at 70% and lowest in Washington at 21%.

Where does this data come from?

Provider counts come from the federal NPPES registry and CMS Doctors and Clinicians files. Payment figures come from the CMS Open Payments program for calendar year 2025. The directory refreshes monthly.

All specialties Ask Zach for help choosing

Sources: NPPES (CMS), Doctors and Clinicians national files, CMS Open Payments 2025. Updated monthly. Records are public federal data and are not verified credentials, licensure checks, or endorsements. This directory is informational and not medical advice. How we build this directory.