HealthcareDiscovery.AI / Doctors / Specialties / General Practice

General Practitioners in the United States

Data updated monthly · Last refresh November 2026

12,541 General Practice providers practice across all 50 states and Washington DC, and 25% received drug or device company payments in 2025. Florida has the most at 2,292. Listings are drawn from federal public records and are not endorsements.

12,541providers
51states
25%with industry payments

Industry payment share ranges from 42% in Florida to 4% in Alaska, among states with 25 or more providers.

General Practice providers by state

StateProvidersReceived payments
General Practice in Florida2,29242%
General Practice in California1,96425%
General Practice in Texas1,06325%
General Practice in New York67822%
General Practice in Washington40410%
General Practice in Virginia40016%
General Practice in Maryland38017%
General Practice in Michigan36721%
General Practice in Pennsylvania34418%
General Practice in Georgia31824%
General Practice in Colorado3039%
General Practice in Illinois29216%
General Practice in Ohio28419%
General Practice in North Carolina23318%
General Practice in Arizona22418%
General Practice in New Jersey21816%
General Practice in Missouri19420%
General Practice in Tennessee16630%
General Practice in Hawaii16420%
General Practice in South Carolina14926%
General Practice in Indiana14930%
General Practice in Louisiana14329%
General Practice in Massachusetts13213%
General Practice in Oklahoma13130%
General Practice in Alabama13131%
General Practice in Kentucky12133%
General Practice in Wisconsin10319%
General Practice in New Mexico10217%
General Practice in Oregon959%
General Practice in Arkansas8421%
General Practice in Minnesota798%
General Practice in Connecticut7415%
General Practice in West Virginia7321%
General Practice in Mississippi7017%
General Practice in Nevada7019%
General Practice in Utah6022%
General Practice in Kansas5915%
General Practice in Washington DC5614%
General Practice in Nebraska5215%
General Practice in Delaware4831%
General Practice in Alaska454%
General Practice in Iowa3711%
General Practice in Montana368%
General Practice in Idaho3119%
General Practice in Maine21not reported
General Practice in South Dakota20not reported
General Practice in Vermont20not reported
General Practice in New Hampshire19not reported
General Practice in Rhode Island16not reported
General Practice in Wyoming15not reported
General Practice in North Dakota12not reported

Common questions

How many General Practice providers are there in the United States?

There are 12,541 General Practice providers with active NPI records across all 50 states and Washington DC, according to federal NPPES data refreshed monthly. Florida has the most at 2,292.

What share of General Practice providers received drug or device company payments?

3,079 of 12,541 General Practice providers nationally (25%) received at least one payment from a drug or device company in 2025, according to the federal Open Payments program. The share is highest in Florida at 42% and lowest in Alaska at 4%.

Where does this data come from?

Provider counts come from the federal NPPES registry and CMS Doctors and Clinicians files. Payment figures come from the CMS Open Payments program for calendar year 2025. The directory refreshes monthly.

All specialties Ask Zach for help choosing

Sources: NPPES (CMS), Doctors and Clinicians national files, CMS Open Payments 2025. Updated monthly. Records are public federal data and are not verified credentials, licensure checks, or endorsements. This directory is informational and not medical advice. How we build this directory.