HealthcareDiscovery.AI / Doctors / Specialties / Independent Medical Examiner

Independent Medical Examiner Providers in the United States

Data updated monthly · Last refresh September 2026

102 Independent Medical Examiner providers practice across all 50 states and Washington DC, and 8% received drug or device company payments in 2025. California has the most at 17. Listings are drawn from federal public records and are not endorsements.

102providers
16states
8%with industry payments

Independent Medical Examiner providers by state

StateProvidersReceived payments
Independent Medical Examiner in California17not reported
Independent Medical Examiner in New York11not reported
Independent Medical Examiner in Texas10not reported
Independent Medical Examiner in New Jersey9not reported
Independent Medical Examiner in Florida8not reported
Independent Medical Examiner in Michigan7not reported
Independent Medical Examiner in Georgia6not reported
Independent Medical Examiner in Ohio6not reported
Independent Medical Examiner in North Carolina5not reported
Independent Medical Examiner in Tennessee4not reported
Independent Medical Examiner in Pennsylvania4not reported
Independent Medical Examiner in Missouri3not reported
Independent Medical Examiner in Indiana3not reported
Independent Medical Examiner in Oregon3not reported
Independent Medical Examiner in Illinois3not reported
Independent Medical Examiner in Louisiana3not reported

Common questions

How many Independent Medical Examiner providers are there in the United States?

There are 102 Independent Medical Examiner providers with active NPI records across all 50 states and Washington DC, according to federal NPPES data refreshed monthly. California has the most at 17.

What share of Independent Medical Examiner providers received drug or device company payments?

8 of 102 Independent Medical Examiner providers nationally (8%) received at least one payment from a drug or device company in 2025, according to the federal Open Payments program.

Where does this data come from?

Provider counts come from the federal NPPES registry and CMS Doctors and Clinicians files. Payment figures come from the CMS Open Payments program for calendar year 2025. The directory refreshes monthly.

All specialties Ask Zach for help choosing

Sources: NPPES (CMS), Doctors and Clinicians national files, CMS Open Payments 2025. Updated monthly. Records are public federal data and are not verified credentials, licensure checks, or endorsements. This directory is informational and not medical advice. How we build this directory.