HealthcareDiscovery.AI / Doctors / Specialties / Neurological Surgery

Neurosurgeons in the United States

Data updated monthly · Last refresh November 2026

8,651 Neurological Surgery providers practice across all 50 states and Washington DC, and 64% received drug or device company payments in 2025. California has the most at 929. Listings are drawn from federal public records and are not endorsements.

8,651providers
51states
64%with industry payments

Industry payment share ranges from 82% in South Carolina to 32% in North Dakota, among states with 25 or more providers.

Neurological Surgery providers by state

StateProvidersReceived payments
Neurological Surgery in California92962%
Neurological Surgery in Texas66272%
Neurological Surgery in Florida64367%
Neurological Surgery in New York53267%
Neurological Surgery in Pennsylvania45266%
Neurological Surgery in Illinois37359%
Neurological Surgery in Ohio35862%
Neurological Surgery in Michigan29066%
Neurological Surgery in Massachusetts23353%
Neurological Surgery in Washington23351%
Neurological Surgery in North Carolina22666%
Neurological Surgery in Georgia22074%
Neurological Surgery in Arizona20167%
Neurological Surgery in New Jersey19367%
Neurological Surgery in Virginia19260%
Neurological Surgery in Missouri19266%
Neurological Surgery in Tennessee19068%
Neurological Surgery in Colorado17662%
Neurological Surgery in Minnesota17148%
Neurological Surgery in Wisconsin17043%
Neurological Surgery in Maryland16363%
Neurological Surgery in Oregon13350%
Neurological Surgery in Louisiana13265%
Neurological Surgery in Indiana12672%
Neurological Surgery in South Carolina12582%
Neurological Surgery in Kentucky11069%
Neurological Surgery in Alabama10976%
Neurological Surgery in Connecticut10860%
Neurological Surgery in Oklahoma9964%
Neurological Surgery in Utah8665%
Neurological Surgery in Arkansas8075%
Neurological Surgery in Iowa7145%
Neurological Surgery in Kansas6568%
Neurological Surgery in Mississippi6274%
Neurological Surgery in Nebraska5558%
Neurological Surgery in West Virginia4865%
Neurological Surgery in Nevada4665%
Neurological Surgery in Idaho4657%
Neurological Surgery in Rhode Island4564%
Neurological Surgery in Montana3954%
Neurological Surgery in New Mexico3765%
Neurological Surgery in New Hampshire3574%
Neurological Surgery in Washington DC3476%
Neurological Surgery in North Dakota3132%
Neurological Surgery in Maine3135%
Neurological Surgery in South Dakota2752%
Neurological Surgery in Alaska21not reported
Neurological Surgery in Hawaii20not reported
Neurological Surgery in Delaware15not reported
Neurological Surgery in Wyoming9not reported
Neurological Surgery in Vermont7not reported

Conditions Neurological Surgery providers in the United States commonly treat

Patients often search by condition rather than specialty. These are conditions typically managed by Neurological Surgery providers. Individual practices vary, so confirm with the provider before booking.

Common questions

How many Neurological Surgery providers are there in the United States?

There are 8,651 Neurological Surgery providers with active NPI records across all 50 states and Washington DC, according to federal NPPES data refreshed monthly. California has the most at 929.

What share of Neurological Surgery providers received drug or device company payments?

5,519 of 8,651 Neurological Surgery providers nationally (64%) received at least one payment from a drug or device company in 2025, according to the federal Open Payments program. The share is highest in South Carolina at 82% and lowest in North Dakota at 32%.

What conditions do Neurological Surgery providers treat?

Neurological Surgery providers commonly treat herniated disc, brain tumors, spinal stenosis, trigeminal neuralgia and related conditions. Individual practices vary.

Where does this data come from?

Provider counts come from the federal NPPES registry and CMS Doctors and Clinicians files. Payment figures come from the CMS Open Payments program for calendar year 2025. The directory refreshes monthly.

All specialties Ask Zach for help choosing

Sources: NPPES (CMS), Doctors and Clinicians national files, CMS Open Payments 2025. Updated monthly. Records are public federal data and are not verified credentials, licensure checks, or endorsements. This directory is informational and not medical advice. How we build this directory.