HealthcareDiscovery.AI / Doctors / Specialties / Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology)

Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) Providers in the United States

Data updated monthly · Last refresh September 2026

4,474 Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) providers practice across all 50 states and Washington DC, and 62% received drug or device company payments in 2025. California has the most at 533. Listings are drawn from federal public records and are not endorsements.

4,474providers
51states
62%with industry payments

Industry payment share ranges from 78% in Louisiana to 43% in Virginia, among states with 25 or more providers.

Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) providers by state

StateProvidersReceived payments
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in California53356%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Florida38258%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Texas38172%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in New York30562%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Illinois20165%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Pennsylvania19559%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Ohio16658%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in New Jersey15563%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Massachusetts12148%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Virginia11343%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in North Carolina11170%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Georgia11065%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Missouri10866%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Washington10644%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Arizona9076%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Maryland9059%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Indiana8673%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Michigan8665%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Tennessee8262%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Colorado6857%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in South Carolina6764%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Kentucky6676%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Nevada6565%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Kansas6455%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Louisiana5878%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Alabama5767%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Wisconsin5661%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Minnesota5155%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Connecticut4963%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Oklahoma4867%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Mississippi4176%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Oregon3569%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in New Hampshire3444%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in New Mexico3462%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Arkansas3266%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Utah2976%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Nebraska2576%
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Iowa23not reported
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in West Virginia21not reported
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Maine19not reported
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Idaho17not reported
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Delaware15not reported
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Alaska14not reported
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Hawaii13not reported
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in South Dakota12not reported
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Vermont10not reported
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Montana9not reported
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Washington DC6not reported
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Rhode Island6not reported
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in Wyoming5not reported
Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) in North Dakota4not reported

Common questions

How many Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) providers are there in the United States?

There are 4,474 Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) providers with active NPI records across all 50 states and Washington DC, according to federal NPPES data refreshed monthly. California has the most at 533.

What share of Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) providers received drug or device company payments?

2,762 of 4,474 Pain Medicine (Anesthesiology) providers nationally (62%) received at least one payment from a drug or device company in 2025, according to the federal Open Payments program. The share is highest in Louisiana at 78% and lowest in Virginia at 43%.

Where does this data come from?

Provider counts come from the federal NPPES registry and CMS Doctors and Clinicians files. Payment figures come from the CMS Open Payments program for calendar year 2025. The directory refreshes monthly.

All specialties Ask Zach for help choosing

Sources: NPPES (CMS), Doctors and Clinicians national files, CMS Open Payments 2025. Updated monthly. Records are public federal data and are not verified credentials, licensure checks, or endorsements. This directory is informational and not medical advice. How we build this directory.