HealthcareDiscovery.AI / Doctors / Specialties / Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery)

Sports Medicine Doctors (Orthopaedic Surgery) in the United States

Data updated monthly · Last refresh October 2026

3,328 Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) providers practice across all 50 states and Washington DC, and 74% received drug or device company payments in 2025. California has the most at 386. Listings are drawn from federal public records and are not endorsements.

3,328providers
51states
74%with industry payments

Industry payment share ranges from 96% in Louisiana to 56% in Iowa, among states with 25 or more providers.

Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) providers by state

StateProvidersReceived payments
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in California38674%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in New York24475%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Texas24080%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Florida19477%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Colorado14580%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Ohio13466%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Pennsylvania11773%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Tennessee10678%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in New Jersey10478%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Illinois10187%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Virginia10075%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Georgia9569%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in South Carolina9080%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in North Carolina8865%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Arizona8572%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Massachusetts7672%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Minnesota7176%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Maryland6770%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Indiana6577%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Michigan6185%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Missouri5876%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Alabama5876%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Washington5866%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Oregon4961%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Wisconsin4661%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Louisiana4596%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Connecticut4183%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Kansas3776%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Utah3073%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Nevada3060%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Iowa2556%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in New Hampshire2572%
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Oklahoma23not reported
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Nebraska22not reported
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in New Mexico20not reported
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Montana20not reported
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Mississippi19not reported
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Hawaii18not reported
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Rhode Island18not reported
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Arkansas18not reported
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Kentucky16not reported
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Idaho16not reported
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Maine15not reported
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Washington DC12not reported
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in West Virginia11not reported
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Alaska7not reported
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Vermont6not reported
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Wyoming5not reported
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in South Dakota4not reported
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in North Dakota4not reported
Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) in Delaware3not reported

Common questions

How many Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) providers are there in the United States?

There are 3,328 Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) providers with active NPI records across all 50 states and Washington DC, according to federal NPPES data refreshed monthly. California has the most at 386.

What share of Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) providers received drug or device company payments?

2,479 of 3,328 Sports Medicine (Orthopaedic Surgery) providers nationally (74%) received at least one payment from a drug or device company in 2025, according to the federal Open Payments program. The share is highest in Louisiana at 96% and lowest in Iowa at 56%.

Where does this data come from?

Provider counts come from the federal NPPES registry and CMS Doctors and Clinicians files. Payment figures come from the CMS Open Payments program for calendar year 2025. The directory refreshes monthly.

All specialties Ask Zach for help choosing

Sources: NPPES (CMS), Doctors and Clinicians national files, CMS Open Payments 2025. Updated monthly. Records are public federal data and are not verified credentials, licensure checks, or endorsements. This directory is informational and not medical advice. How we build this directory.