NMN for Endurance: What 9 Trials Show (2026 Evidence Grade)
A real but small signal on walking speed and submaximal endurance, nothing on strength or VO2max, and one study suggesting NMN may blunt the training response.
Partly. In a 2025 meta-analysis of 9 randomized trials with 412 middle-aged and older participants, NMN improved gait speed by a standardized mean difference of 0.34 (95% CI 0.03 to 0.66), while a separate 2025 meta-analysis found no effect on handgrip strength, skeletal muscle index, gait speed or chair-stand time in adults over 60 (PMID 39185644; PMID 40275690). In the one trial of trained people, 48 amateur runners given 300, 600 or 1,200 mg per day for 6 weeks, the two higher doses improved oxygen uptake and power output at the ventilatory thresholds, but VO2max, oxygen pulse and peak power did not change in any group (PMID 34238308). Healthcare Discovery grades the performance claim as preliminary and scores it 56 out of 100 on the HYPE Index, mixed calibration. Labels sell strength and stamina to everyone. Trials show a modest submaximal effect in small groups and no strength effect at all.
What nine trials show
| Study | Population and design | Dose and duration | Performance result |
|---|---|---|---|
| PMID 39185644 (2025) | Meta-analysis, 9 RCTs, n=412, middle-aged and older adults | Not stated in abstract | Gait speed SMD 0.34 (95% CI 0.03 to 0.66, p=0.033) |
| PMID 40275690 (2025) | Meta-analysis, older adults mean age 60.9 to 83 | Not stated in abstract | Null: muscle index MD -0.42, handgrip MD 0.61 kg, gait speed MD -0.01 m/s, chair stand MD -0.21 s |
| PMID 34238308 (2021) | RCT, 48 amateur runners training 5 to 6 times weekly | 300, 600 or 1,200 mg per day for 6 weeks | Threshold VO2 and power improved at 600 and 1,200 mg; VO2max and peak power unchanged |
| PMID 36482258 (2023) | RCT, 80 healthy middle-aged adults | 300, 600 or 900 mg per day for 60 days | Six-minute walk distance improved versus placebo at days 30 and 60 (p<0.01); magnitude not stated |
| PMID 38789831 (2024) | RCT, 60 older adults | 250 mg per day for 12 weeks | Primary stepping test null; 4-m walking time shortened as secondary outcome |
| PMID 35215405 (2022) | RCT, 108 older Japanese adults, four arms | 250 mg per day, morning or afternoon, 12 weeks | Within-group sit-to-stand improvement (d=0.72, afternoon group); placebo groups improved too |
| PMID 36443648 (2023) | RCT, 14 men over 65 with diabetes | 250 mg per day for 24 weeks | Grip strength 1.25 kg (95% CI -2.31 to 4.81) versus -0.44 kg placebo; walking speed 0.033 versus 0.014 m/s; both null |
| PMID 36740954 (2023) | RCT, 30 overweight adults over 45 | MIB-626 2,000 mg per day for 28 days | No change in muscle strength, aerobic capacity or stair-climbing power |
| PMID 41705654 (2026) | Crossover, 11 non-athletic young men | 1,200 mg per day for 7 days | Abolished the 171 percent post-exercise rise in mitochondrial content seen with placebo |
Reading the disagreement
The two meta-analyses are not as contradictory as they look. The 9-trial analysis pooled middle-aged and older adults and found a small gait speed benefit with a confidence interval that nearly touches zero (PMID 39185644). The second analysis restricted itself to adults over 60 and to sarcopenia-relevant outcomes with only 2 to 5 trials per measure, and found nothing (PMID 40275690). The difference is plausibly age and outcome selection. What both agree on is the absence of a strength or muscle mass effect. No NMN trial reports a strength gain versus placebo. The diabetic men over 65 with reduced grip strength or walking speed who took 250 mg per day for 24 weeks, the longest trial in the literature, gained 1.25 kg of grip strength against a loss of 0.44 kg on placebo, a difference whose confidence interval spans from -2.31 to 4.81 kg (PMID 36443648).
The runner trial is the most direct test of the endurance claim, and its abstract is more careful than the claim. Submaximal thresholds improved at 600 and 1,200 mg per day over 6 weeks of training. Maximal aerobic capacity did not. The arms were 12 people each, mostly men, and the magnitudes are not in the abstract (PMID 34238308). The 80-person trial’s six-minute walk improvement is the other endurance result in the record, again with magnitude not reported and in a per-protocol analysis (PMID 36482258).
The mitochondrial finding
The study that should give athletes pause is the smallest. In 11 non-athletic young men, 7 days of NMN at 1,200 mg per day suppressed exercise-induced TNF-alpha and IL-10 gene expression, delayed p21 expression and clearance of infiltrating cells from damaged muscle, and abolished the 171 percent increase in mitochondrial content measured 24 hours after blood-flow-restricted exercise with placebo (PMID 41705654). Mitochondrial biogenesis is a central adaptation to endurance training. A 2023 meta-analysis found that training itself raises muscle NAMPT, the rate-limiting enzyme for NAD synthesis, by about 1.46-fold (PMID 37954044), which raises the possibility that supplementing NMN removes a stimulus the muscle would otherwise respond to. The study is tiny, mechanistic and unreplicated. It is also the only trial to look.
Featured Partner
Invest in the Infrastructure Behind Modern Medicine
As healthcare expands beyond hospital walls, the buildings and campuses supporting that shift are generating compelling returns for investors who move early. The Healthcare Real Estate Fund offers qualified investors direct access to a curated portfolio of medical office, outpatient, and specialty care facilities.
Learn More →What we do not know
Whether the threshold gains in runners persist beyond 6 weeks or appear in elite athletes. Whether NMN blunts mitochondrial adaptation over a full training block in trained adults, since the only data are 7 days in non-athletic men. Whether any dose produces a strength gain, since none has. How large the gait speed and walking distance improvements are in absolute terms, since the abstracts report standardized effects or p-values without magnitudes. Who ran the trials matters too. According to PubMed author affiliations and the trial report, the six-minute walk trial was co-sponsored by ABA Chemicals and Abinopharm, the companies that made the NMN tested (PMID 36482258), the 24-week trial in older men had authors from Teijin and NOMON (PMID 36443648), the 12-week walking and sleep trial had authors from Meiji Holdings (PMID 38789831), and the MIB-626 trial had an author from its developer, Metro International Biotech (PMID 36740954). The runner trial and the mitochondrial study list only academic affiliations (PMID 34238308; PMID 41705654). For an ingredient with a deeper exercise record, see Healthcare Discovery’s Creatine for Longevity.
Doses used in studies
These are doses reported by the named sources, not recommendations.
| Source | Dose reported | Context |
|---|---|---|
| PMID 34238308 | 300, 600 or 1,200 mg per day for 6 weeks | 48 amateur runners alongside training |
| PMID 36482258 | 300, 600 or 900 mg once daily for 60 days | 80 healthy middle-aged adults, six-minute walk |
| PMID 36443648 | 250 mg once daily for 24 weeks | 14 older diabetic men with reduced grip strength or walking speed |
| PMID 41705654 | 1,200 mg per day for 7 days | 11 non-athletic young men, crossover with 3-week washout |
All ten NMN claims, including sleep and blood pressure, are graded in Healthcare Discovery’s NMN evidence review. Method at HYPE Index methodology.
Compiled by Healthcare Discovery from the cited PubMed studies. Every citation, author affiliation and trial sponsor named on this page was checked against PubMed on October 27, 2026. How claims are scored: HYPE Index methodology.
Does NMN improve endurance?
In 48 amateur runners, 6 weeks of NMN at 600 or 1,200 mg per day improved oxygen uptake and power at the ventilatory thresholds, but VO2max and peak power did not change (PMID 34238308).
Does NMN increase strength or muscle mass?
No trial shows it. A 2025 meta-analysis in adults over 60 found no effect on skeletal muscle index (MD -0.42), handgrip strength (MD 0.61 kg) or gait speed (MD -0.01 m/s) (PMID 40275690).
Can NMN interfere with training adaptations?
Possibly. In 11 non-athletic men, 7 days of NMN at 1,200 mg per day abolished the 171 percent post-exercise increase in muscle mitochondrial content seen with placebo (PMID 41705654). The finding is small and unreplicated.
