Scientists in a modern research laboratory representing longevity breakthroughs 2026 in AI drug discovery, epigenetic reprogramming, and gut-brain research
|

How Long Does NMN Take to Work? Moderate Evidence, 6 Trials Reviewed

The blood marker moves in two weeks. The outcomes people buy NMN for have not moved at any timepoint yet measured.

Presented By Our Partners

Blood NAD rises within 14 days: in 65 healthy adults, two weeks of NMN or nicotinamide riboside comparably increased circulating NAD concentrations (PMID 41540253), and in 80 healthy middle-aged adults taking 300 to 900 mg per day, blood NAD was significantly higher than placebo at day 30 and remained so at day 60 (PMID 36482258). That is the fastest and most reliable answer to the question. Everything after it depends on what “work” means. Six-minute walk distance improved by day 30 in the same 80-person trial. Diastolic blood pressure fell by about 2 mmHg across 10 trials (PMID 41901064). Fasting glucose, insulin and HbA1c did not change at 12 weeks in a meta-analysis of 8 RCTs (PMID 39531138). Strength and muscle mass did not change at 24 weeks, the longest duration tested (PMID 36443648). Healthcare Discovery grades the timeline question as moderate evidence for the biomarker and preliminary to contradicted for everything else. This page lays out what moved, when, and in whom.

Timeline by outcome

OutcomeEarliest change reportedStudyStatus at longest timepoint
Blood NAD14 days65 healthy adults, NR or NMN (PMID 41540253)Still elevated at 60 days in 80 adults (PMID 36482258); confirmed across 12 RCTs (PMID 39116016)
Blood NMN exposure14 days32 older overweight adults, MIB-626 1,000 mg once or twice daily, AUC 1.7-fold and 3.7-fold above baseline (PMID 35182418)Pharmacokinetic study only
Six-minute walk distance30 days80 healthy adults, 300 to 900 mg per day (PMID 36482258)Still improved at 60 days; magnitude not stated
Body weight28 days30 overweight adults, MIB-626 2,000 mg per day, -1.9 kg (95% CI -3.3 to -0.5) (PMID 36740954)Null across 15 RCTs up to 24 weeks (PMID 42514320)
Diastolic blood pressure28 daysSame MIB-626 trial, -7.01 mmHg (95% CI -13.44 to -0.59) (PMID 36740954)Pooled -2.15 mmHg (95% CI -3.68 to -0.61) across 10 RCTs (PMID 41901064)
Submaximal endurance6 weeks48 amateur runners, 600 or 1,200 mg per day (PMID 34238308)VO2max unchanged at 6 weeks; no longer data
Sleep quality (PSQI)12 weeks60 older adults, 250 mg per day, secondary outcome (PMID 38789831)No longer data; 60-day insomnia trial still a protocol (PMID 37202819)
Fasting glucose, insulin, HbA1c, HOMA-IRNo change8 RCTs, 14 days to 12 weeks (PMID 39531138)No change at any timepoint
Grip strength, walking speed in older diabetic menNo change14 diabetic men over 65, 250 mg per day (PMID 36443648)Null at 24 weeks, the longest trial
Arterial stiffnessTrend only36 adults, 250 mg per day (PMID 36797393)Not significant at 12 weeks

What “working” looks like at each stage

In the first two weeks, the only documented change is biochemical. The 14-day trial found NAD rose comparably with NR and NMN but not with plain nicotinamide, and proposed that gut bacteria convert both precursors to nicotinic acid first (PMID 41540253). A sublingual formulation tested over 60 minutes in 14 men produced more terminal catabolites than oral NMN but no difference in blood NAD itself (PMID 42304075), so faster-absorbing products have not shown a faster NAD response. The MIB-626 pharmacokinetic study confirmed dose-dependent increases in blood NMN and NAD at 14 days (PMID 35182418).

Between one and two months, the surrogate outcomes that do move begin to appear. The 80-person trial found six-minute walk distance improved versus placebo at both day 30 and day 60, SF-36 quality of life scores improved, and a proprietary blood age algorithm held steady while rising with placebo, all without any change in HOMA-IR (PMID 36482258). The analysis was per protocol, the magnitudes are not in the abstract, and the trial was co-sponsored by ABA Chemicals and Abinopharm, the companies that made the NMN tested. The 28-day MIB-626 trial at 2,000 mg per day found weight, diastolic pressure, total cholesterol and LDL all fell, with no change in insulin sensitivity, liver fat, strength or aerobic capacity (PMID 36740954). That dose is eight times the 250 mg per day used in most trials, and MIB-626 is a proprietary formulation whose developer, Metro International Biotech, has authors on the trial.

At three months, the picture is mixed. In 60 older adults, 12 weeks at 250 mg per day missed its primary stepping-test endpoint but shortened 4-meter walking time and improved sleep questionnaire scores as secondary outcomes (PMID 38789831). In 108 older adults, within-group improvements in sit-to-stand and drowsiness appeared, largest with afternoon dosing (d=0.72 and d=0.64), but placebo groups improved too (PMID 35215405). Pulse wave velocity trended down without reaching significance in 36 adults (PMID 36797393). At six months, the single trial found grip strength and walking speed unchanged in 14 older diabetic men, with a non-significant trend in frailty (p=0.066) (PMID 36443648).

Featured Partner

Invest in the Infrastructure Behind Modern Medicine

As healthcare expands beyond hospital walls, the buildings and campuses supporting that shift are generating compelling returns for investors who move early. The Healthcare Real Estate Fund offers qualified investors direct access to a curated portfolio of medical office, outpatient, and specialty care facilities.

Learn More →

What we do not know

Anything past 24 weeks. Whether the NAD rise plateaus, keeps climbing or fades with continued use, since no trial tracked it beyond 60 days with repeated sampling. Whether the day-30 walking improvement means anything clinically, since the magnitude is unreported. Whether stopping NMN reverses the biomarker change and on what timeline. And whether the outcomes that have never moved, blood sugar and strength, would move with longer exposure, since the longest trial already ran six months and found nothing. Six trials give timelines; none gives a destination.

Doses used in studies

These are doses reported by the named sources, not recommendations.

SourceDose reportedTimepoints measured
PMID 36482258300, 600 or 900 mg once daily for 60 daysDay 30 and day 60
PMID 35182418MIB-626 1,000 mg once or twice daily for 14 daysDay 14 pharmacokinetics
PMID 38789831250 mg once daily for 12 weeksWeek 4 and week 12
PMID 36443648250 mg once daily for 24 weeksWeek 24

The outcome-by-outcome grading, the HYPE Index table and the interaction rows are in Healthcare Discovery’s NMN evidence review. Method at HYPE Index methodology.

Compiled by Healthcare Discovery from the cited PubMed studies. Every citation, author affiliation and trial sponsor named on this page was checked against PubMed on October 27, 2026. How claims are scored: HYPE Index methodology.

How long does NMN take to raise NAD levels?

About two weeks. In 65 healthy adults, 14 days of NMN or NR comparably raised circulating NAD (PMID 41540253), and in 80 adults taking 300 to 900 mg per day, blood NAD was higher than placebo at day 30 and day 60 (PMID 36482258).

How long before NMN affects energy or physical performance?

Six-minute walk distance improved versus placebo by day 30 in 80 healthy adults at 300 to 900 mg per day (PMID 36482258), with magnitude not stated. Grip strength and walking speed did not change at 24 weeks in 14 older diabetic men (PMID 36443648).

How long does NMN take to lower blood sugar?

It has not at any timepoint tested. Across 8 RCTs lasting 14 days to 12 weeks, NMN had no significant effect on fasting glucose, insulin, HbA1c or HOMA-IR (PMID 39531138).

Free Daily Briefing

The Latest Longevity Science.
Delivered Every Morning.

Join researchers, physicians, and health professionals getting daily breakthroughs in AI-driven medicine, epigenetics, and longevity research.

Support the research that powers this editorial

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime. We respect your inbox.

Similar Posts